Skip to content

Voice of Business Blog

2022 Midterm Election Overview

November 10, 2022

Marc Cohen, Chief of Staff

The 2022 Midterms were widely anticipated to bring significant wins for Republicans nationwide. As of the writing of this brief, that does not appear to be the case. While many races have yet to be called either because of the closeness of the results or lack of adequate precincts reporting, definitive Democratic victories in Michigan (Governor Whitmer won reelection), Pennsylvania (Josh Shapiro won the race for Governor and John Fetterman won the race for US Senate), and Wisconsin (Governor Tony Evers won reelection), as well as several key House victories for Democrats and votes in favor of protecting abortion rights, combat the narrative of a “Red Wave.” That said, Republicans are on track to win back the House of Representatives and are competitive to take a majority in the Senate.

Below is an overview, starting with our home state of New York, outlining key races and their preliminary results. While the below is intended only as a summary, a pre-election brief is available which offers specific context for these races. Races too-close-to-call are identified as such and this overview will be updated as additional information comes available. Winners are identified in bold.

New York



Democratic Governor Kathy Hochul defeated challenger Republican Congressman Lee Zeldin (53-47 with 93% of the precincts reporting); Democratic Attorney General Letitia James defeated Republican challenger Michael Henry (54-44); and Democratic Comptroller Tom DiNapoli defeated challenger Paul Rodriguez (56-41). United States Senator Chuck Schumer defeated challenger Joe Pinion (56-41).


Races Local to Rochester


NY-25 Congressional Race: La’Ron Singletary (R) v. Joe Morelle (D)

Incumbent Democratic Congressman Joe Morelle defeated Republican nominee La’Ron Singletary. While historically a Democratic stronghold that President Biden won by 20 points in 2020, this seat has recently drawn attention as Singletary closed the gap. Morelle ultimately won the seat 54-46.


New York State Senate and Assembly

A more comprehensive brief on the status of the NYS Assembly and Senate is forthcoming but below is the status of Rochester’s State Delegation. Overall, Democrats will continue to control both Houses but Republicans made notable gains in both the Senate and Assembly statewide.


New York State Senate

District 54: Senator Pamela Helming (Incumbent) (R) vs. Kenan Baldridge (D)

District 55: Senator Samra Brouk (Incumbent) (D) vs. Len Morrell (R)

District 56: Senator Jeremy Cooney (Incumbent) (D) vs. Jim VanBrederode (R)

District 57: Senator George Borrello (Incumbent) (R) vs. Daniel Brown (D)

District 62: Senator Robert Ortt (Incumbent) (R) Unopposed

New York State Assembly

District 130: Brian Manktelow (Incumbent) (R) vs. Scott Comegys (D)

District 133: Marjorie Byrnes (Incumbent) (R) vs. Sara Spezzano (D)

District 134: Josh Jensen (Incumbent) (R) unopposed

District 135: Jen Lunsford (Incumbent) (D) vs. Joseph Chenelly (R)

District 136: Sarah Clark (Incumbent) (D) vs. Orlando Rivera (R)

District 137: Demond Meeks (Incumbent) (D) vs. Marcus Williams (R)

District 138: Harry Bronson (Incumbent) (D) vs. Tracy DiFlorio (R)

District 139: Stephen Hawley (Incumbent) (R) v. Jennifer Ao Keys (D)


New York’s United States House of Representatives Delegation (Competitive Seats)


NY-01: Nick LaLota (R) v. Bridget Fleming (D)

This seat is open as a result of the current holder, Lee Zeldin, running for Governor. Republican Nick LaLota is projected to beat challenger Democrat Bridget Fleming keeping the seat in Republican hands.


NY-02: Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R) vs. Jackie Gordon (D)

Incumbent Republican Congressman Andrew Garbarino defeated Democrat Jackie Gordon. This was a repeat of the 2020 contest in which Garbarino beat Gordon by 7 points.


NY-03: George Santos (R) v. Robert Zimmerman (D)

Republican George Santos defeated Democrat Robert Zimmerman in this open seat, flipping it from Democrat to Republican. It is currently represented by Tom Suozzi who declined to run for reelection and instead unsuccessfully ran in the Democratic Primary for Governor.


NY-04: Anthony D’Esposito (R) v. Laura Gillen (D)

Republican Anthony D’Esposito beat challenger Democrat Laura Gillen with 52% of the vote. This win represents a flip from D to R on Long Island.


NY-17: Mike Lawler (R) v. Sean Patrick Maloney (D)

New York State Assemblyman Mike Lawler defeated incumbent Democratic Congressman (and current DCCC Chair) Sean Patrick Maloney. Maloney conceded at 10:30am on November 9th. Lawler’s victory is significant as it flips the seat from Democratic control to Republican control.


NY-18: Colin Schmitt (R) v. Pat Ryan (D)

Incumbent Democratic Congressman Pat Ryan defeated Republican New York State Assemblyman Colin Schmitt in a narrow victory. Schmitt conceded at 2:00am on November 9th.


NY-19: Marc Molinaro (R) v. Josh Riley (D)

Republican Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro defeated Democrat Josh Riley in this newly drawn district.


NY-22: Brandon Williams (R) v. Francis Conole (D) Too Close To Call

Brandon Williams is on track to defeat Francis Conole in this open seat. The vote tally as of 10:00am on November 10th is 132,762 to 128,837. Conole has yet to concede.



Gubernatorial Race: Too Close To Call

Republican Nominee: Kari Lake

Democratic Nominee: Katie Hobbs


Senate Race: Too Close To Call

Republican Nominee: Blake Masters

Democratic Nominee: Senator Mark Kelly (Incumbent)



Gubernatorial Race:

Republican Nominee: Brian Kemp (Incumbent) (won 54-46)

Democratic Nominee: Stacey Abrams


Senate Race: This race will go to a runoff to take place in December as no candidate received 50%+1

Republican Nominee: Herschel Walker

Democratic Nominee: Senator Raphael Warnock (Incumbent)



Gubernatorial Race

Republican Nominee: Tudor Dixon

Democratic Nominee: Governor Gretchen Whitmer (Incumbent) (won 52-46)



Gubernatorial Race: Too Close To Call

Republican Nominee: Joe Lombardo

Democratic Nominee: Governor Steve Sisolak (Incumbent)


Senate Race: Too Close To Call

Republican Nominee: Adam Laxalt

Democratic Nominee: Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (Incumbent)


North Carolina

Senate Race:

Republican Nominee: Ted Budd (won 51-47)

Democratic Nominee: Cheri Beasley



Senate Race:

Republican Nominee: J.D. Vance (won 53-47)

Democratic Nominee: Tim Ryan



Gubernatorial Race:

Republican Nominee: Doug Mastriano

Democratic Nominee: Josh Shapiro (won 55-43)


Senate Race:

Republican Nominee: Mehmet Oz

Democratic Nominee: John Fetterman (won 50-48)



Gubernatorial Race:

Republican Nominee: Tim Michels

Democratic Nominee: Governor Tony Evers (Incumbent) (won 51-48)


Senate Race:

Republican Nominee: Senator Ron Johnson (Incumbent)  (won 50.5-49.5)

Democratic Nominee: Mandela Barnes


Scroll To Top