Skip to content

Chamber News Release

2024 Young Women of Distinction Scholarship Award Recipients Announced by Greater Rochester Chamber’s Women’s Council affiliate

May 16, 2024

ROCHESTER, NY (May 16, 2024) - The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, announced the recipients of its 25th annual Young Women of Distinction Awards at a celebration on Tuesday, May 14, 2024. The scholarship program supports the Women’s Council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders

The 2024 scholarship award recipients are as follows:

  • Mary Devine, Pittsford Sutherland High School
  • Kaelyn Jake, Caledonia-Mumford High School
  • Hser Ka Mwee Paw, Aquinas Institute of Rochester
  • Makayla Smith, School of the Arts

The four top recipients, one each from the Rochester City School District, Monroe County–East, Monroe County–West, and the eight regional counties surrounding Monroe County, receive a $2,500 scholarship and all other finalists receive a $250 scholarship.

This year’s other finalists are below:

  • Tyla Burke, Rochester Early College
  • Maria Boone, Victor Senior High School
  • Danica Simpson, Victor Senior High School
  • Piper Turri, Penfield Senior High School
  • Marissa Comstock, Williamson Senior High School
  • Harley Wolfanger, Perry Junior/Senior High School
  • Megan McLaughlin, Avon High School
  • Sophia Visconte, Brockport High School
  • Bronte Jones, Hilton High School

Modeled after the ATHENA Award, the Young Women of Distinction program is designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence, and involvement in the nine-county Greater Rochester and Finger Lakes region.

For more information on the Women’s Council and the Young Women of Distinction program, visit


Scroll To Top