Skip to content

Chamber News Release

2022 Young Women of Distinction Award Winners Announced

May 5, 2022

Women’s Council Scholarship Program for Next Generation of Leaders


ROCHESTER, NY (May 5, 2022) The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, announced the recipients of its 23rd annual Young Women of Distinction Awards at a celebration on Tuesday, May 3, 2022. The scholarship program supports the Women’s Council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.


The 2022 Young Women of Distinction honorees are:

Lola DeAscentiis - The Harley School

Aaniyah Simmons - World of Inquiry School

Gwen Bushen - Aquinas Institute of Rochester

En-Ya Shen - Geneva High School


The four top recipients, one each from the Rochester City School District, Monroe County east, Monroe County west, and the eight regional counties surrounding Monroe, receive a $2,500 scholarship, while other finalists receive a $500 scholarship.


Other finalists this year included:

Amy Feng – Pittsford Sutherland High School

Catherine Healy – Penfield High School

Joyce Shi – Pittsford Mendon High School

Mary Cotter – Allendale Columbia School

Stefanie Sellitto – Webster Schroeder High School

Natalie Buzzell – School of the Arts

Shannon Conner – School of the Arts

Emma Manley – Brockport High School

Isabelle Price – Hilton High School

Jessica Williams – Hilton High School

Lydia Dawkins – Hall – Gates Chili High school

Angela Tewksbury – Livonia High School

Anna Quarterman – Naples Central School

Kasey Hall – Naples High School

Noelia Ventura – Batavia High School

Sydney Haas – Victor Senior High School


Modeled after the ATHENA Award, the Young Women of Distinction program is designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence, and involvement in the nine-county Rochester and Finger Lakes region.

For more information on the Women’s Council and the Young Women of Distinction program, visit


Scroll To Top