Skip to content

2021 Young Women of Distinction Award Winners Announced

May 19, 2021

Women’s Council Scholarship Program for Next Generation of Leaders

ROCHESTER, NY (May 19, 2021) The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, announced the recipients of its 22nd annual Young Women of Distinction Awards at a virtual celebration at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 18, 2021. The scholarship program supports the Women’s Council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.

The 2021 Young Women of Distinction honorees are:

Selin Akbas - Pittsford Sutherland High School

Carys Carr - World of Inquiry School #58

Kaitlyn Sipes - Churchville-Chili Senior High School

Alicia Livermore - Naples High School

The four top recipients, one each from the Rochester City School District, Monroe County east, Monroe County west, and the eight regional counties surrounding Monroe, receive a $2,500 scholarship, while other finalists receive a $500 scholarship.

Other finalists this year included:

Tahaara Gazali – East HS

Bhuvana Chimmiri – Brighton HS

Cecily Kolko – Pittsford Sutherland HS

Delaney Fischer – Our Lady of Mercy School for Young Women

Alexia Nelms – Hilton HS

Maggie Schultz – Brockport HS

Callie Updike – Holley HS

Kathryn Fitzpatrick – Batavia HS

Semma Alfatlawi – Victor Senior HS

Modeled after the ATHENA Award, the Young Women of Distinction program is designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence, and involvement in the nine-county Rochester and Finger Lakes region.

For more information on the Women’s Council and the Young Women of Distinction program, visit

Ywod 2


Scroll To Top